Now we’re halfway through the Yarnspirations Mystery Afghan KAL/CAL and I’m enjoying it.

Every Tuesday I can’t wait to start on the clue and see what new pattern or stitch I can learn.

Week 1: Mitered Square
Week 1: Mitered Square

Week 1 was the Mitered Square. So far it has been the easiest one. The colors used were Emerald, Grey Heather, and Grass. The first week the instructions said to make 4 and I got them done on the first day.

Week 2: Eyelet Cable Square
Week 2: Eyelet Cable Square

Week 2 was the Eyelet Cable Square. Now I don’t like cables so my mom made them. She got them done pretty quickly, this week needed 4 squares also. The color used was Grey Heather.

Week 3: Corner to Corner Square
Week 3: Corner to Corner Square

 

Week 3 was to make 8 of the Corner to Corner Square. This was a little more difficult because of the striping. There are a lot of ends that need to be weaved in that I haven’t done yet. The colors used were Seagreen, Grey Heather, and Grass.

Week 4: Daisy Stitch
Week 4: Daisy Stitch

Week 4 was the Daisy Stitch. This has been by far my favorite. I like the way the pattern looks especially in the color Emerald. This week also needed 8 squares. The video was necessary to understand how to do this stitch.

Week 5: Cam Cable
Week 5: Cam Cable

Week 5 was the Cam Cable. Not a square but a rectangle and we only needed to make 2. So my mom and I each knit one at the same time. It took three days for us to finish. The cable was difficult for me but I’m glad that I did it and I feel so accomplished. The color used for this one was Seagreen. I am glad it was a lighter color because it was easier to see the cable.

Weeks 1-5
Weeks 1-5

I’m excited to see what the next five weeks bring and how the afghan comes together.

If you’re doing this Mystery Afghan KAL/CAL let me know how you’re doing in the comments.

Leave a Reply

